Gluten-Free Taco Recipe: 10 Health Benefits

Gluten Free Taco Recipe is a gluten-free recipe easily modified for Paleo or Keto diets. The formula is made with almond flour and can be made vegan by substituting cheese for nutritional yeast.

How to make Gluten-Free Taco Recipe

Prepare time: 20 min

Cook time: 30 min

Total time: 50 min

Difficulty level: Easy

Servings size: 5 tacos

Equipment:

  • Cutting board
  • Paring knife
  • Large skillet

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 8-ounce jar salsa of your choice (I used Spicy Sweet Chili Sauce ) 1
  • 0-ounce (1/2 pound) feta cheese
  • crumbled

Directions:

Step 1: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Add the canola oil, turmeric, and paprika to a bowl. Mix well until the turmeric is evenly distributed throughout.

Step 2: Pour the oil-turmeric mixture into a large skillet over medium heat.  Immediately add another 4 tablespoons of canola oil and garlic.  Stir frequently until the mixture becomes fragrant and slightly translucent, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.

Step 3: Roughly chop all ingredients listed in the ingredient list above so that they are roughly one-third chopped. Transfer to a large, large bowl.  Add the leftover ingredients to the bowl, and mix well until all ingredients are evenly distributed throughout.

Gluten-Free Taco Recipe
Gluten-Free Taco Recipe

Step 4: Spread the dough into a single layer on a baking sheet or stone.  Bake for about 30 minutes until golden brown in color and firm to the touch.

Step 5: Let cool for at least 5 minutes before shaping your tacos.

Nutrition facts of Gluten-Free Taco Recipe

  • Calories: 132 cal
  • Fat: 9 g
  • Net carbs: 2 g
  • Protein: 3 g
  • Fiber: 1 g
  • Cholesterol: 0 mg
  • Sodium: 116 mg
  • Sugar: 1 g

10 Health Benefits of Gluten-Free Taco Recipe

1. Great source of magnesium

Magnesium is important in our diet, as it stimulates metabolism, regulates heart rate and oxygen intake, promotes relaxation, and prevents migraine headaches. It also helps calcium absorption in our bones and maintains a healthy nervous system. 

2. Many essential vitamins and minerals

One serving of this gluten-free taco recipe contains over 500% of the daily value of vitamin C, which is important to maintain healthy muscles and immune systems. These tacos also have a good amount of calcium, iron, vitamin A, fiber, and potassium.

3. High in fiber

Fiber is an important nutrient that helps with digestion and helps to prevent high blood pressure since it prevents starchy foods from becoming too rapidly absorbed into the bloodstream.

4. High in protein

Protein is crucial to beauty, fitness, and health overall. It maintains lean muscles, helps with weight loss, and also helps to regulate blood sugar levels.

5. Gluten-free

For those trying to avoid gluten or have celiac disease, this taco recipe is a wonderful option containing no gluten at all. 

6. Vegan

You can easily make this recipe vegan by omitting the cheese and replacing the mayo with nutritional yeast.

7. Low glycemic index

Gluten-Free Taco Recipe
Gluten-Free Taco Recipe

The glycemic index of this recipe is low, so it is perfect for those with diabetes who are looking for a healthy and low-glycemic meal option.

8. Easy to customize

This gluten-free taco recipe is incredibly flexible and can be made vegan by replacing the cheese with nutritional yeast or made Paleo by skipping the cheese altogether. 

9. High in protein

Protein is important for beauty, fitness, and health, commonly found in meat, fish, eggs, and dairy products. It maintains lean muscles, helps with weight loss, and also helps to regulate blood sugar levels.

10. Source of fiber

Fiber is an important nutrient that stops our bodies from absorbing fats or cholesterol while also helping with digestion. Fiber also prevents constipation and hemorrhoids by keeping your intestines clean inside.

Gluten-free beef taco recipe?

This recipe is flexible enough to be easily made into a beef taco recipe. You could use ground beef instead of tempeh, omit the cheese, and homemade taco seasoning instead of store-bought powder.

Gluten-free chicken taco recipe?

This chicken taco recipe is one of my favorite recipes I’ve ever made. It is incredibly easy to make and only requires 4 ingredients! All that you have to do is cook some chickpeas until they’re tender and sauté them with onion and garlic.

Gluten-free taco seasoning recipe Allrecipes?

Although I haven’t tried this recipe, I will update it after trying it out. The ingredients listed in the recipe on Allrecipes sound very similar to the elements of my homemade taco seasoning recipe. They both include paprika, chili powder, and garlic.

Conclusion

Whether you are looking for a gluten-free taco recipe or a beef taco recipe, the recipes in this blog post should be able to help you meet your needs. The recipes are filled with fresh and healthy ingredients, such as tomatoes and avocados.

They also contain many non-traditional ingredients that are great for weight loss, like almond flour and nutritional yeast. If you have any questions about the gluten-free or Paleo taco recipe, leave me a comment below!

FAQ

What taco seasoning is gluten-free?

Most taco seasoning is gluten-free. You can read more about how to make your taco seasoning below or check out my homemade recipe. 

Can you eat tacos on a gluten-free diet?

Tacos can be eaten on a gluten-free diet. However, some taco shells are not gluten-free and should therefore be avoided.

Aren’t tacos unhealthy and high in fat?

Tacos have fat, but the ingredients used and preparation made them much healthier than other food options. I highly recommend making your own or purchasing a gluten-free taco seasoning until you can make your own from scratch.

Are there any gluten-free taco shells?

Not unless you are extremely lucky. Even though most taco shells are gluten-free, some surfaces may be processed on the same equipment as regular wheat flour.
If you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, this is a great reason to avoid these products. Many variations of taco shells contain gluten, such as sweet potato, corn, or bean-based shell options.